Positive running mantras.

Last Wednesday morning I ran 5 miles, my longest run since the half marathon and spraining my ankle. My ankle started to act up around mile 3 and I felt so slow and out of breath the whole time. I had to stop at mile 4 for a sit break and was getting super frustrated. I kept thinking, how did I run 13.1 miles a week and a half ago?? During my little sit break I had a revelation; this is NO BIG DEAL. Seriously, it isn’t. Days like this happen and you just have to keep at it through the good and the bad. I went through a number of my go-to positive running mantras while sitting on that bench and settled on the most obvious one- I CAN DO THIS! So I got back up and finished out the last mile.

photo (1)

I found this article from Jessica at Runladylike.com that I LOVE!

Positive running mantras are key. When you run you are basically spending anywhere from 20 minutes to 4 hours in your head. During this time I am talking myself up, talking myself down, thinking about what I am going to do later, what I will eat, where I want to travel to next… Most importantly I’m thinking about how I am going to survive the next hour halfway through my long run. Here are my go-to’s for times like these:

running-mantra  d790a110b51bd731c15fd6f7f61b1169 rqnottoday51jEKTaksNL._SY300_

Basically what it comes down to is that a bad run will always still be a GREAT run because you did it and you followed through until the end. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in training plans, time goals, excuses and thinking you aren’t good enough. The important thing is to think about what your body is actually doing and how great it makes you feel being able run and how lucky we are.

9ad613965e12812ab7d293b03850c808

 

 

Leave a Reply

