Phillips 10k trail run race recap.

On Sunday I ran my first ever trail race and it was AWESOME! I thought I was doomed all week leading up to the race because I overdid it with strength training on Wednesday and my quads were insanely sore. By Saturday I convinced myself I was only going to run the 5k and play it safe but I woke up Sunday morning and decided to suck it up. I’m so happy I did because I had no idea what I was in for. The race was right by my parent’s house so they came out to cheer me on along with Jon and Finley. It was a small race but extremely well organized. The gun went off at 9am and the next thing I know I’m running through narrow wooded trails like Katniss Everdeen in my own version of The Hunger Games, long steep ups and long steep downs. About a mile in I glanced at my Garmin and saw I was holding a 10 minute pace and since it’s been a while since I’ve seen that I started to realize trails were no joke! I was dodging rocks and bushes, jumping over fallen trees and skipping over exposed roots. The best part of the race was having to keep insanely focused the whole time, mainly so I didn’t break my neck. My legs were giving it their all up the endless hills but it felt great and I was riding a high the whole time. Between the gorgeous wooded scenery and challenging course, time was flying by and it felt like the race was over in the blink of an eye. I finished 19th overall and 3rd in my age group, victory!! If you have never done a trail race, Google one now and sign up immediately- you will LOVE it!

This race was also very exciting in another way; it marks day #1 of my marathon training! If all goes well 20 weeks from Sunday I will be in Columbus Ohio with my insanely supportive husband, both sets of our parents, sister & brother in-law, niece and nephew and I will be running the Columbus Marathon. A big chunk of my inspiration for getting into blogging was to blog through my marathon journey and hopefully inspire others to make their running dreams come true and better yet make them come true in really cool places! So this is like the official, OFFICIAL kick off to Wanderlust On The Run, woohoo! Thanks for being a part of it!

ImageImage

ImageImage

Hope you all had a nice weekend and fit in a great run! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

