Marathon training has begun & my training plan.

I signed up to run the Columbus Ohio Marathon on October 19th this year. This will be my first marathon and the biggest task I’ve ever taken on. For the past 2 years I’ve applied to the lottery for the New York City Marathon in hopes of getting in and making my marathon debut on my home turf and favorite city BUT anyone who knows anything about the NYC marathon knows that getting into that race via the lottery is damn near impossible. Sooo I did the next best thing and signed up for the Columbus Ohio marathon where my family can come be my cheering squad and I can get to know Columbus (aka-hubby’s hometown) a little bit better.

Words cannot express how excited I am for this journey. 3 years ago I started running, 2 years ago I ran my first half marathon and last year was the Olympic triathlon, it’s only fitting that this year I conquer the 26.2! Never in a million years did I think running would be this rewarding, probably because every sport I played running was used as punishment, but now I’d pick running over any other sport any day of the week.

It took me a little while to come up with the perfect training plan but then I came across this book and decided to customize my own plan based off the Novice 1 program.

MarathonCover

marathon training schedule

With a couple of trips happening during the training I didn’t want to put pressure on how much I would run while I’m away so I left those “away” days blank and we’ll just see what happens 🙂

This week is week 3 and I am kicking butt! At first I was super nervous about Hal Higdon’s plan calling for 3 consecutive days of running but today was a day 3 run and I felt stronger than ever. Definitely training the legs to work hard even when they are fatigued so hopefully this will help prevent me from hitting a wall when I get into the longer runs in August.

Anyways that is the plan Stan, lets do this! TWENTY SIX POINT FREAKIN’ TWO, HERE I COME!

One thought on “Marathon training has begun & my training plan.

  1. Hal Higdon’s plans are the best! I’ve been running and marathon training for over 5 years and love using his plans! I think they provide you with a great balance. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

