Starting to get this thing down.

I’m starting to get this marathon training thing down. My pace is finally staying around the 8:45/min mile range which makes me very happy. 9 days off in Alaska + running in the heat set me back earlier in July but I’m feeling great now. I also started 2 new things! 

Thing 1: Ice baths! Sitting in an ice bath after my Saturday long runs has helped me tremendously. No soreness, no lead legs and I feel spectacular for the rest of the weekend. Why didn’t I think of this sooner!?

Thing 2: Gu Energy Gels. I put trying these off for a long time because they are straight up gross BUT I absolutely need to find some good fuel for these long runs and for marathon day or I will be dunzo at mile 6 and to be honest if I don’t make it to the free beer at the finish line I will be one sad lady. I decided to give Salted Caramel a try and it wasn’t so bad. I don’t get how someone can eat the whole thing in one go but I guess I’ll get there right? :-\ The important thing is that it worked. No stomach ache, no cramping, and I felt a burst of energy to carry me through the rest of the run. This has caffeine which I’m realizing is a total must have. I’m going to stick with this and give some additional flavors a try.

GU8HOL-SC-1

So far- 12 miles down this week. I am LOVING this cooler summer weather and the sunrises have been on point all week!

Monday- Strength training/arms

Tuesday- 6 miles

Wednesday- 3 miles

Thursday- 3.2 miles + hills

photo 4 photo 2

Hope everyone is having a great week! 

Leave a Reply

