Week 15 and the run I will never forget.

Sooo I ran 20 miles on Saturday and it was AH-MAZ-ING! And now that that is over it’s all about maintaining until race day….relaxing, eating, sleeping. Honey boo boo style.

In all seriousness, I cannot believe week 15 is over and there are just 5 weeks left to go, it’s been a looooong road (pun intended ;)) To be honest, I was in a bad place a couple of weeks ago where I just could not see the light at the end of the tunnel. I felt exhausted, bored, anxious, overwhelmed and a mix of a million other things. I read that a lot of people feel this way right after they hit the halfway mark.  It was as if the training was never ending and between work, family and being insanely busy this summer I felt like I was just staying afloat with everything. BUT…with that, just as running can exhaust you it can also make you feel like a million bucks. All it took was one 5:30am sunrise 4 miler to get back to my happy place.

We were staying at my parent’s house last week which meant gorgeous lake running routes.

photo (13)photo 5 (6)

We made a stop the 9/11 memorial on our way home from work last Thursday and spent a couple minutes reflecting on that day 13 years ago. We were both freshmen in high school when the planes hit the twin towers and it was a day I’ll never forget. Living just an hour outside of the city many people in my area were affected and things were never really the same. Now New York City is like home to Jon and I and we’ve seen this massive tower being built over the last 4 years and we’ve never really stopped to think about the whole thing. It was nice to take a moment and really digest what happened that day and all the lives that were lost.

photo 4 (5)

Sorry for all the sad stuff, lets turn this post around and talk about happy things :)

Speaking of happy things, lets talk about the 20 miles I did on Saturday (Garmin pic below for proof!) It truly was amazing/ life changing and I NEEDED it. I only stopped once for about 1-2 minutes to refill my water bottle otherwise I trucked through all 20 miles and felt strong throughout. This was HUGE for me, I have been stopping a lot on my long runs because let’s be honest its been summer and its been HOT! Saturday was in the high 50’s and it was glorious. My legs started to hurt in places I never knew existed but I reminded myself “pain is temporary” and it eventually went away. Mile 19 was my fastest mile and I felt like a rockstar. It was exactly the run I needed to boost my confidence. I even got a little emotional at the end (oh yeah I’m totally going to cry at the end of the marathon, lets just get that out there right now). The important thing is I totally had 6.2 more miles in me and I officially feel ready to rock this race in 5 weeks. Hallelujah bring on the Chipotle!

photo 3 (6)  photo 1 (10)

 

Leave a Reply

